This Week in Review: The Latest from Chez Lederhosen

Just got my stats from 2014 and it was grim. I only posted once a month and that’s definitely not enough so I’m going to try something new: a week in review. And since the last week was actually kind of interesting, I’m starting now. Here goes:

The last week of 2014/the first week of 2015, I got a shit-ton of nothing done. As it should be.

I ate rice cakes again after binging on peppermint bark and homemade pralines. Because it’s the New Year and every mother fucker is on a diet so why not me, too. Besides, the gym is off-limits to me now that every dude and his brother is there to flex their abs and meet their winter girl/boyfriend.

I saw Oberwesel for a night on a road trip to show my parents a bunch of castles. It’s a tiny town with nothing to do but it’s a pensioner’s wet dream near the Loreley on the Rhine.

I learned that the train ride to Frankfurt Airport from Cologne is well worth its price because that Autobahn drive is boooooooooring. That newfangled technology in my rental car kept beeping at me because it thought I was falling asleep every time I stopped speeding and it nearly gave me road rage.

I read Die Zeit cover to cover and fulfilled my decade-long dream of being able to understand everything. It helps that I was reading all about myself in an article that was about why so many middle-aged women are still single (Who’s afraid of the independent woman? was a ridiculous title for what we all know should’ve been more like: why are German men so afraid of independent women?)

I listened to the Serial podcast. Finally. I’m not as hooked as everyone else but I am really interested in the questions of memory and psychopathy. Plus, Adnan talks exactly like one of my cousins, who I could totally see being in his hard spot.

I felt the snowflakes melting on my cheeks and remembered why I love winter despite the dark skies.

Here’s an obligatory picture of what my life looked like last week.

Oberwesel

What about you all? What have you been up to this first week of the year?

8 thoughts on “This Week in Review: The Latest from Chez Lederhosen

  1. bevchen January 4, 2015 / 10:24 pm

    What have I been up to? Eating mostly! Happy New Year 🙂

  2. cliff1976 January 6, 2015 / 10:27 am

    Gettin’ my peace-and-quiet work on. We didn’t leave town this holiday season, which was convenient for the amount of work I had to get done before the onslaught of other work stuff where I need to be around people.

    I also got a few bergburg.net posts ready; I think I’ll let another one of those drop this morning.

    • Milly January 6, 2015 / 11:27 am

      Sounds really nice and relaxing… we stayed (for the most part) in Cologne and it’s such a different experience, from the hordes of jerks out on the street on Dec 23 to the quietest city ever on the 24th. Got so much nothing done, it was great. And definitely checking out the blog. Was curious why Regensblog was quieter but I love the new berg-/-burg…. Have you seen this one as well? Might be up your alley: http://www.pommesbuddha.com/language/de/

      • cliff1976 January 6, 2015 / 11:46 am

        Heh. After August 2014 we just sorta ran outta steam on Ye Olde Regensblog for a few months. There was too much non-blogworthy stuff going on until we finally visited Berchtesgaden at the end of November.

        Thanks for the Pommes Buddha recommendation!

  3. Dana January 8, 2015 / 5:27 pm

    I spent my first Christmas and New Year’s back in the States in four years! So now in this first year in 2015 I’m fighting off this jet lag lol It was worth it though!! 🙂

  4. milkoaa January 12, 2015 / 2:25 pm

    I’m delighted I came across your site and was wondering if you or any of your readers can give me some advice about recruitment in Germany. I’m working for a company that is looking to expand into multiple cities across Germany, including Berlin, Munich, Cologne and was wondering if anyone had any advice on the best places to advertise locally. We are looking for English speaking businessmanagers so any advice would be greatly appreciated. We’ve advertised on Linkedin and Monster.com but haven’t had much luck attracting the right applicants.

    • Milly January 12, 2015 / 11:29 pm

      You might have some luck advertising with Thelocal.de but honestly, unless you want an expat (who likely already has a job), your best bet is to advertise locally with an advert in English, saying that applications have to be in English. Depending on the qualifications, if very business oriented try Sueddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, FAZ or Handelsblatt. If “just” manager, not super qualified, local newspapers like KSTA in Cologne would work. Also, pro tip: Germans hate Linkedin and Monster. They prefer Xing for all things career-related.

Leave a Reply

