Week in Review: KW3

I had to get back to business last week after a month off, which might explain the stupid headline. Who the fuck speaks in calendar weeks? Global businesses do and it drives me fucking insane. Can we just say, let’s meet in the week beginning January 12? No. Let’s meet in calendar week 3. I have no clue when that is, but sure, let’s meet. Don’t be mad when I don’t show up to our meeting though because I have no fucking clue when the third Wednesday in the year is and I am not about to use my precious infinite Google time to find out when you could just as easily say January 15.

Anyway, here’s what calendar week three looked like for me:

I didn’t work out enough. Excuses, excuses.

I spent a shit ton of time researching Fashion Week Berlin (which started today) before ultimately deciding I cannot waste my time there anymore and sent my partner-in-crime there instead. Bad fashion journalist. Or maybe more like bad fashion. Good journalist.

I have resolved to finally get my shit together this year and January feels like the proper time to do that because Jayzus, this month is depressing and if I hadn’t made plans in advance, I wouldn’t be getting out of bed. To help with the SADness, I started drinking Vitamin D for breakfast. Anyone else do this?

Drake’s “Hold On We’re Going Home” has been on rotation here, which is sure to fuck with Diva-in-Training’s Psyche. Being reminded “You’re a good girl and you know it,” is going to lead to serious ethical conundrums when she’s a teenager and later in life, I’m sure so I alternated it with Beyonce’s “Pretty Hurts,” to remind her it’s not about what you look like. This has led to problems getting out the door in the morning because, as she has said, you can’t just stop choreographing a new dance because it’s school time.

Finally, I closed out the week with another theater visit, this time to see the film version of my friend Cheryl Strayed’s memoir Wild. It was strange to watch an actress pretending to be a woman I know in real life so I didn’t really get into it as much as I wanted to. I know Cheryl loves Reese and loved the portrayal and I’m really stoked for everybody to have gotten Oscar noms so I think it’s ultimately a good film and y’all should go and see it. And read the book, too.

Spirit animal for the week ahead:

What’s your week look like?

10 thoughts on “Week in Review: KW3

  1. No Apathy Allowed January 19, 2015 / 8:59 pm

    I also just don’t get calendar weeks either. Usually when I see it written KW3 I don’t immediately comprehend what the f*** they’re talking about and why everyone can’t just list the specific dates they mean. Ah well, that probably isn’t going to change. So far this month I’ve had a terrible time getting it together. It’s not for lack of time or ability, so I’m blaming it on the lack of daylight. Maybe I should repeat after Jessica. 🙂

    • Milly January 20, 2015 / 2:17 pm

      Yes, Jessica’s mantra is the only thing reminding me to get out of bed some days. Can the days get any grayer?

  2. BerLinda January 19, 2015 / 11:14 pm

    Ha, that video is fantastic! I should start doing that instead of not taking the vitamins or drinking the Actimel that I bought 😉 I was thinking about popping by Fashion Week but I don’t really give a crap about fashion to be honest! I’m going to Grüne Woche tomorrow though!

    • LaptopsandLederhosen January 20, 2015 / 1:36 pm

      Nobody gives a shit about fashion in Germany. Birkenstocks and socks baby!

      • BerLinda January 20, 2015 / 2:00 pm

        Yeah! Screw Fashion Week, I’m going to eat and look at cows in my trainers 🙂

      • Milly January 20, 2015 / 2:19 pm

        I have a couple of clients who disagree and yet, I can never ever find the words to describe German “Fashion” without feeling false. How about: the stuff that was on sale in Denmark two years ago finally hit the racks here? There’s one fashion blogger who runs a store here that I loathe… the clothes are hideous and yet every time I work with her, i’m like, oh wow, fabulous! A neon green plaid maxi skirt?!? How brave of you! I need some new clients.

    • Milly January 20, 2015 / 2:20 pm

      That’s the rub, isn’t it? The later in the year, forget about it. Even my calendar in my iphone won’t schedule that shit.

    • Milly January 23, 2015 / 4:45 pm

      I didn’t — thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

